Racine? Thompson? (Copper Rivets)

Mule

Paul Hammarstedt - 8157
Greetings to you all. I am new to canoes and promised to recover my father-in-law's canoe. After that I plan to get my Step-Grandfather's mother's Old Town (early 1900's with sailing rig) and restore it.

The father-in-law's canoe is the one I just started to take apart and am wondering what it is. I hope it might look familiar to you well-seasoned Canoe experts.

Here's some info about it and a couple pictures:

Overall Length: 18'-8"
Overall Width: 35"
Height Amidships: 13"

Front and Rear Decks: Thin mahogany 28" at center of combing, 38" at edges. Supported by what looks like 2"x2" framing.

Ribs: 2" x approx 3/8" spaced on 3-1/2" centers
Half Ribs: 1-1/4" wide (no stringers)
Inner Stems: 7/8" wide

Outer Stems: It has them; attached with finishing nails, screw at keel end; rivet at top (through both outer wales).

Gunwales: Mahogany I think; copper rivets every 5th rib, copper nail through outer gunwale every 3rd rib.

ID number: Stamped on a rib in the front "86-18" and beneath that "18"

Planking: Top planks are parallel to keel - I'll strip some canvas and post a picture soon.

So far I love working on this. It's perfect work for me. Though I will need to develop a many wood-working skills before long.

Thanks for taking the time to read this ramble!

Cheers,
Paul Hammarstedt
Crystal Lake, IL USA

Attachments

• Bottom overall front quarter 0682.jpg
    Bottom overall front quarter 0682.jpg
    97.3 KB · Views: 588
  • Gunwale Rivets 0695.jpg
    Gunwale Rivets 0695.jpg
    117.5 KB · Views: 631
  • Top Rear 0687.jpg
    Top Rear 0687.jpg
    122.5 KB · Views: 640
  • Outer Stem 0683.jpg
    Outer Stem 0683.jpg
    63.5 KB · Views: 564
  • Stem end and serial no 0685.jpg
    Stem end and serial no 0685.jpg
    94.5 KB · Views: 588
Some planking pictures from inside

Here are some pictures of the planking from inside the canoe. Also one of the termination of gunwales and outer stem....

Cheers,