Please help me identify

JRinvest

Curious about Wooden Canoes
I saw this at a local second-hand store and had to purchase it. I have no idea what I have here. Does anybody happen to know? Thank you.

Attachments

• 20161212_145742.jpg
    20161212_145742.jpg
    63.2 KB · Views: 896
  • 20161212_150411.jpg
    20161212_150411.jpg
    50.2 KB · Views: 870
  • 20161212_145712.jpg
    20161212_145712.jpg
    56 KB · Views: 892
  • 20161212_145722.jpg
    20161212_145722.jpg
    60.7 KB · Views: 883
OK, I'll take on the challenge. However, please understand that, while I have some experience with canoes and models from the South Pacific, I'm far from an expert. I'm also at a disadvantage, being currently in Florida, while all my research books and info on S. Pacific canoes are back north, in Ontario, buried in snow (or so I hear).

To begin with, what you have appears to be a small, tourist-type, souvenir piece, likely brought back by someone who had travelled on vacation to one of the South Pacific islands. But, which one? There are thousands, amongst which to try to place the origin of your piece. The South Pacific is broken down into three main cultural, geographic areas - Micronesia, Melanesia and Polynesia. Gut instinct and vague memories of studying Haddon & Hornell's book "The Canoes of Oceania", suggest to me that your model could be Micronesian. If you're near a good library, see if you can get hold of a copy of this book. There are other excellent texts if H&H is not available, but it is often thought of as 'the Bible' when it comes to Oceanic canoes.