Paddle shape and performance

Graham Warren

Likes making paddles
I am interested in the handling characteristics of various shapes of paddles and would be very interested in any ideas/observations.

I have a straight-sided ottertail design (if I could figure out how to post an attachment, I would show the shape) which seems significantly more effective for pitch strokes that a more rounded ottertail type. I am not an engineer, and can only imagine that the straight edges give more effective ruddering, or less spillage of water.

Any comments or other observations?

Best wishes,

Graham

Paddle shape

There has to be a discussion or two on this topic in this site's archives somewhere, but you can also get some great info from this book:

http://merchandise.wcha.org/product_info.php?cPath=92&products_id=435
Odd, you have the same name as one of the co-authors...

Personally, I use a short, wide, well-reinforced blade in shallow water, and a long, narrow blade in deep water. The wider blade gives you more bite on the water when you can't immerse the entire blade length. The narrow, tapered entry is very quiet, which is great on still water. A narrower blade also seems lesslikely to flutter during in-water recoveries, though a blade's cross-sectional shape (& imperfections) can influence that a lot.

I suspect the straight-sided ottertail just has more blade width at the tip than your tapered-sided one, and thus would provide a bit more force at the end of the lever than the tapered blade. All else being equal, the differences in performance can be subtle. But length of the blade also would come into play, and would probably be a more significant factor.

It'll be good to hear others' opinions! :)

Hi Graham,