Old Towne Canoe on eBay

Yes, it could be a steal, because we sure don't know much about this canoe. The seller doesn't say anything that might be gleaned if we knew the serial number... or if there were more pictures, which might be "worth a thousand words."

...OR the canoe could be a complete mess, not worth the bucks already bid on it.

I have my doubts about it being 14 feet long. Seems to me that the length of the canoe should be something a seller is definite about.

Hopefully, the buyer will request the build record here in Forums.

This is located about 2 hours' drive from me. I'm no expert, but may be able to do a drive-by, if someone is seriously interested. What better way to learn, than to help other people spend their money??? :D

Benson -

I noted there were 41 bids on the auction, and the canoe sold for $465. As to who the high bidder was, the identity is kept private - new eBay rules. I did note that it was a last second bid. The listing did mention there was a serial number, but it wasn't given. Too bad.

Rich
:)

I'd written the seller and asked for the serial number... he posted my letter. Because some eBay sellers do that (post the questions they get), I like to use that as a tool to get the word out re WCHA and whatever else might help the ol' canoe get into "the right hands".

Anyway, the seller reminded me he was in Florida and he apparently didn't know anyone in Wisconsin who could take more pictures or write down the serial number.

It's reasonable to be suspicious of eBay offerings when the seller posts only one really bad picture, knows nothing about the canoe, lives across the country from the canoe, says buyer must pay cash right away but can wait until summer to pick it up, says he's selling it "for a friend"... writes in allCAPS and uses lots of exclamation points!!!.... and spells Old Town "Oldtowne"... sigh. I hope someone didn't get ripped off, one way or another.