Need some first time advice.

mstermer

This is my first time posting, and really my first time doing anything like this (canoe restoration wise). I recently got a 14' 1986 Huron canoe from Great Canadian. Overall the boat is in great shape (although from reading around I hear they might not be the greatest construction, but there's no real problems with the boat). One thing I do need to fix on it is the varnish. Right now the varnish coat that goes on top of the epoxy covering the fiberglass with peeling a bit. There is no damage to the epoxy or the fiberglass. I just wish to clean off the peeling and give the boat a new coat.

Here's my questions:

Is this a good idea?
Would a light sanding down of the peeling varnish be the best method for this?
I found that the maker used McCloskey's Man o' War Marine Spar Varnish originally to coat the boat. I've read I need to know the kind of epoxy used on the boat so this doesn't react poorly to the varnish, but would this be needed if i know the original varnish?

any other advice for this newbie would be appreciated. I'm a bit of a fish out of water right now, but am trying to learn what I'm doing since I'm really interested in caring for this boat and any future wooden canoes i may get.