"Baptism" By Fire

WoodNCanvas

LOVES Wooden Canoes
When I was a student (in University of Toronto’s Physical and Health Education program), I worked for one of my profs at his summer camp. Kirk Wipper was somebody who you couldn’t help but be inspired by. He made you get involved in the outdoors….in the whole experience of being outside….in any weather or any season….but he was most infestious when it came to canoeing. Kirk had built up a collection of canoes, kayaks, rowing craft, and skin boats that became the Kanawa Canoe Museum (most of the collection is now in the Canadian Canoe Museum in Peterborough....which I believe many of you have had the opportunity to see....especially at the 2008 Assembly). Kanawa was found on the same property as Camp Kandalore was….Kandalore was a boys’ tripping camp that stressed canoeing in its programs….especially tripping throughout Ontario from Algonquin and Temagami, with the more senior trips taking routes to James Bay. The canoe was certainly a focal point to the entire Kandalore experience….whether at the summer camp or programs run in the off season for various groups. So it was a “privilege” to be hired as Kandalore staff….I hadn’t come up through the system as a camper….I wasn’t one of the “Kandalore Boys”….but I loved all that Kandalore stood for after having been up there for a week or two as a Phys. Ed. student at the required fall camp in second year. As much as Kirk might have painted how fortunate Kandalore was to have me as a staff member (Kirk was able to paint things in a very positive light most times….and it was hard to turn him down in any request….whether working at Kandalore….or picking up a canoe for the museum in some far-off province….or helping to build Kanawa’s log building by “taking” a log building course there run by Alan Mackie….Kirk had a way to get things done….and getting others involved), I soon found out that the regular program staff weren’t quite sure what to make of me. I had the most basic