What to watch for on a fiberglassed canoe?

wanderlustjake

Beginner Canoeist
Hi,

I am a newbie/lurker here. Been looking at canoes off and on for a while, trying to educate myself before taking the plunge. While online, I recently came across a couple wood/canvas that have been fiberglassed over. I haven't gone to look yet, but am curious what to look for on one that has been glassed? One supposedly just needs seat repair and interior refinishing. Any thoughts would be appreciated.

Thanks,

Jason

Your post gave me a smile... in reply to "what to look for when a wood/canvas canoe has been Fiberglassed", my response would be "how easy will it be to remove the fiberglass?" And the answer to that has to do with the glassing-job: the better the glassing-job, the harder it will be to remove so that the canoe can be canvassed... because that's "the final answer": the canoe should be re-done with canvas... but if it's water-worthy, it can be carefully used until you get around to the task.

There's been lots of discussion in regard to fiberglass and ribbed canoes... until others here chime-in on your question, you may want to use the "search" function above and type in "fiberglass" and read a few of the past posts. There are a few great examples of what can happen to a wood/canvas that has been glassed. There are practical reasons for removing the fiberglass-- it isn't simply that "we" are all purists, who want all old canoes brought back to their original state.

After WWII, Fiberglass was thought to be "the answer" to restoration of canvassed canoes. The examples of why it isn't a solution to anything other than punishment appear to be many.... beginning with *weight* and ending with *rot*.

Maybe Howard will chime in with how much fun it's been working on the Penn Yan...

Kathy

Thanks Kathy - I will pick up on this and tag team Jason with you.