Upper and lower spar connection

DAVID EDGERLY

Enthusiastic about Wooden Canoes
I am considering making the joint for the yard and boom with good line threaded threw grommet in sail and holes in spars is this sufficent. Also have made wooden jaw out of 3/4 ply to hold the boom to mast will want to use smallest carriage bolt threw wood jaw and mast can i use a #10 or #12 bolt? I have no sailing experience so this is all new to me
dave

Dave,

I assume we're talking about a lateen sail here. Yes, it's possible to connect the yard and boom by lashing both to the tack grommet on the sail - as long as (1) it's a good grommet - which probably means at least a #2 spur grommet, not some sort of hardware store grommet and (2) as long as the sail has good corner reinforcement patches to keep the grommet from pulling out. This probably means a minimum of around four layers of fabric (sail panel plus 3 reinforcing layers) in that corner.

I'm not sure I understand the concept you mentioned of bolting the jaw to the mast, as they are generally attached to the boom, not the mast. In any case, often the best way to attach a jaw to a spar is to cut a shallow groove or trench in the spar (maybe 3/16"-1/4" deep) glue the jaw into the trench and then reinforce it with a couple fasteners (screws, bolts, rivets, etc.). The tight fitting slot and glue just help keep the jaw from twisting or wiggling around in use. There are, however, a lot of variations and other ways to do it.

Todd
this is a lateen rig, the sail corners are not reinforced so i will do something else i have your book to look at other options.
The wood jaw will be going on the boom i like your idea to mill slot on boom.how do i locate the jaws position on boom?
Thanks dave