Picked up an OT Yankee

ChetPunisher

Curious about Wooden Canoes
I came across a long unused 1948 Old Town Yankee Canoe. Previous owner recovered but left it out in the snow. Not much wood damage but I'll need to replace the canvas. I've never done this before so any advice or reference materials would be great.

Attached are some pics of when I got her home.

Attachments

• IMG_0157.jpg
    IMG_0157.jpg
    104.4 KB · Views: 375
  • IMG_0158.jpg
    IMG_0158.jpg
    82 KB · Views: 380
  • IMG_0159.jpg
    IMG_0159.jpg
    78.7 KB · Views: 364
  • IMG_0160.jpg
    IMG_0160.jpg
    71.5 KB · Views: 369
  • IMG_0161.jpg
    IMG_0161.jpg
    71.7 KB · Views: 375
  • IMG_0162.jpg
    IMG_0162.jpg
    89.3 KB · Views: 371
Here are some more pics

Attachments

• IMG_0166.jpg
    IMG_0166.jpg
    121 KB · Views: 315
  • IMG_0165.jpg
    IMG_0165.jpg
    93.5 KB · Views: 315
  • IMG_0164.jpg
    IMG_0164.jpg
    89.1 KB · Views: 329
  • IMG_0163.jpg
    IMG_0163.jpg
    71.4 KB · Views: 319
I got most of the canvas off. How do I handle the keel? The metal part on the bow and stern are coming loose. How do I remove the wood part? Are there screws? How many? I took some pics. So far I think the wood looks good. Let me know if you need any other angles.

Attachments

• IMG_0170.jpg
    IMG_0170.jpg
    118.9 KB · Views: 288
  • IMG_0169.jpg
    IMG_0169.jpg
    115.8 KB · Views: 316
  • IMG_0168.jpg
    IMG_0168.jpg
    122.6 KB · Views: 313
  • IMG_0167.jpg
    IMG_0167.jpg
    114.9 KB · Views: 297
How do I handle the keel? The metal part on the bow and stern are coming loose. How do I remove the wood part? Are there screws? How many?

The metal stem band is screwed on from the outside and the keel is screwed on from the inside with one screw in every other rib. There doesn't appear to be any orange on that canvas so it may not be original. Good luck,

Benson