New member from Wales, UK

Happyfish

Curious about Wooden Canoes
Hi, my name is Nigel and I live in Pembrokeshire, Wales in the UK. I have been paddling sea kayaks for many years and open canoes for the last 6 years.

I have just bought a Chestnut wood canvas canoe that I think is a Deer. It was imported into the UK around 5 years ago and may have been owned formally by a member on this forum (so I have been told). It has not been used that much by the person who had it imported. It is in very good condition but needs some tender loving care. I want to keep it as original as possible and would appreciate any help you can give me.

There is a Serial number in the boat that I think says 3 28(?) 73 7283. I have posted a picture of this below. The Chestnut decal states "Oromocto". The boat is 15' 7" long, 36" wide with 1.5" ribs. Can anyone confirm the model and the date of manufacture?

I was told that the boat is covered with PVC canvas and while this is in very good condition the paint has rubbed away in a few places. Should I paint this and if so with what paint or should I leave it alone.

Just another question if you don't mind. I am used to kneeling but as this boat does not have kneeling thwart, should I lower one of the thwarts to help with kneeling or do I use something else for support, a bag for example.

Thanks for any help you can provide
Nigel (Happyfish)

image.jpg

image.jpg

image.jpg

image.jpg

Welcome to the WCHA!

For paddling solo and kneeling, many of us find turning the canoe around and leaning against the rear edge of the bow seat does the trick – especially if you are carrying any gear which you can place so as to trim the canoe a bit better.

If you want to be more in the center of the canoe, you might look at Tom Seavey’s leather saddle seat –
http://azlandtraditions.com/leather_Saddleseat.html

And for some other do-it-yourself ideas along the same lines, check out http://paddlemaking.blogspot.com/2012/01/leather-solo-seat.html