Max wt? Displacement? What's the difference?

Tnic

Paddlewon Canoobie
That and pretty much every other NOOB question. :D

I have very little paddle time in either canoes or kayaks, but I can say I DO like and I want to check a build and Allagash paddle off my bucket list.

Soooo......

I've been absorbing everything I can find on YT and will be ordering the bible of canoeing soon (i'm out of the country and its not offered in Kindle format).

I've also been eyeballing a few kit & plan dot coms and I've seen some designs that I like buuuut.... One Mfgr gives their stats in Max Weight while another (like Noah boats) give displacement. Being the total noob that I am what does it mean?

I want a canoe that will carry my wife and I (~350 lbs) and maybe 100 lbs of gear on most quiet lakes or rivers with very easy swift water flows so a total of about 450 lbs for a weekend camp out and hopefully a multi-day trip down the Allagash.

I see a lot of folks on YT run 15'-16" boats (some of them with WAY too much crap), but then I look at say, the Prospector or Bob's Special on Noah and they show a displacement of 350 ish lbs. Then I look at Selway (S&G) and they show max wts of 500-700 lbs. What gives?

I don't have sawdust in my blood, but I know which end of the saw to grab on to so I'm confident that I can so this.

TIA

Thanks Benson, but I still don't get it.

Noah Marine isn't even consistent between their stripper & S & G offerings. Their 15' Bob's is listed with 345 lbs Displacement while their S & G 15' Townsend has a Recommended on board wt of 150-800 lbs. Am I to understand the Bob's will only handle a load (including paddlers, gear, etc) of 345 lbs? Meanwhile the plywood offering will take on another 455 lbs?