About the WCHA

The Wooden Canoe Heritage Association is a non-profit membership organization devoted to preserving, studying, building, restoring, and using wooden and bark canoes, and to disseminating information about canoeing heritage throughout the world.

The WCHA publishes a journal, Wooden Canoe, four times a year. Each issue is packed with articles about canoe building and restoration, canoe tripping and wildnerness skills, stories about the romance of the wooden canoe, news about the WCHA and its Local Area Chapters, classified ads, and much, much more.

Each year, the WCHA hosts its Annual Assembly, a five-day long gathering of wood canoe enthusiasts. The Assembly features workshops and programs on canoe building and restoration, paddling skills, wood canoe history, kids’ programs and more. Attendance is typically over 300 members and 200 canoes.

Board of Directors

Michael Grace – President 
mgrace@fit.edu

Craig Kitchen - Vice President
ckitchenmqt@gmail.com

Pete Shea - Secretary
pshea1@rochester.rr.com

Nick Dombrowski
nickmd@rocketmail.com

Barclay Foord
foord@optonline.net

Deborah Gardner
gardner272@gmail.com

Colleen Hovey
colleen.hovey@gmail.com

Bill Van Keuren
wenlvk@comcast.net

Administrative Contacts

Wooden Canoe Heritage Association, Inc.
P.O. Box 117
Tamworth, NH 03886
603-323-8992

Executive Director
Annie Burke
Annie@wcha.org
603-323-8992

Editor, Wooden Canoe
Chris Eden
editor@wcha.org
206-321-1473

Interim Web Master
Benson Gray
webmaster@wcha.org

WCHA Store Manager
Jeanne Griffin-Greene
greenecanoe@gmail.com

Assembly Coordinator
Rob Stevens
robstevens7777@gmail.com

Historian Network Coordinator
Al Bratton
canoeal@aol.com